Book Search:  

 

 
Google full text of our books:

bookjacket

Chuck Close Prints:
Process and Collaboration
Terrie Sultan
With an essay by Richard Shiff

Paperback | 2003 | This edition is out of print | ISBN: 9780691115771
Hardcover | 2003 | This edition is out of print | ISBN: 9780691115764

Reviews

Chuck Close--a man who describes himself as "an artist looking for trouble"--has for three decades consistently but variously challenged the accepted boundaries of the printmaking tradition. Published to accompany a retrospective of his prints opening at Blaffer Gallery and traveling to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and several additional museums around the country, this is the first comprehensive survey of Close's revolutionary prints.

Featuring exquisite reproductions of the prints together with essays on Close's career and in-depth interviews with the artist and his master printmakers, the volume blends words and images to give readers unique insight into the creative process. The text highlights the intensely collaborative nature of Close's project and looks into the challenges posed by the unprecedented huge scale he prefers. Close may labor on a single print for as long as two years, working out aesthetic problems that might involve the retrieval of a centuries-old European method on one day and the creation of an entirely new technique (such as applying sunscreen to block light) the next. "Prints have moved me in my unique work more than anything else has," Close says. "Prints change the way I think about things."

From the artist's ambitious first mezzotint to his recent pulp-paper multiples, this book chronicles the genius of Chuck Close in the medium in which he has done his most exciting work. Taken together, these prints constitute a remarkable self-portrait of the creative drive, vision, and intellect of one of America's most important living artists.

EXHIBITION SCHEDULE

Blaffer Gallery, the Art Museum of the University of Houston
September 13-November 23, 2003

The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
January 13-April 18, 2004

Miami Art Museum, Florida
May 14-August 22, 2004

Knoxville Museum of Art, Tennessee
October 29, 2004-March 27, 2005

Mint Museum of Art, Charlotte, North Carolina
April 16-August 7, 2005

Addison Gallery of American Art, Andover, Massachusetts
September 6-December 4, 2005

Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth, Texas
April 16-June 28, 2006

Madison Museum of Contemporary Art in Madison, Wisconsin
July 29 - October 6, 2006

Orange County Museum of Art, Newport Beach, CA
January 28-April 20, 2007

Boise Art Museum, Idaho
May 12-August 11, 2007

Portland Art Museum, Oregon
September-December 2007

Review:

"If seen by enough people, Chuck Close Prints should go a long way toward correcting many misunderstandings about prints, not least the misapprehension that they must be the handmaiden to painting, a kind of 'quick fix.' For Close, who has a penchant for the conceptual reversals requisite in printmaking . . . prints have offered an unqualified extension of his practice, both expressive and technical."--Faye Hirsch, Art in America

"There have been numerous catalogs from exhibitions in which Close's prints were included and about a dozen on Close alone in the last ten years. . . . However, this catalog is one of the best ones."--Choice

"Chuck Close, the great postmodern pointillist printmaker, is a methodical perfectionist. Fittingly, Terrie Sultan goes much deeper than the usual artist appreciation in Chuck Close Prints. After Sultan's introduction and an essay by Richard Shiff, an art professor at the University of Texas, Austin, whole chapters are devoted to each type of printmaking that Close has mastered."--Ted Loos, New York Times Book Review

Endorsement:

"Close's relationship to printmaking is in the tradition of Durer, Rembrandt, Goya, and Picasso--who all used printmaking for its unique qualities as a creative process and as a means of solving esthetic issues. The interviews give a real sense of Close's enthusiasm for printmaking and for process, and the detailed illustrations are fascinating."--Judith K. Brodsky, Founding Director, The Rutgers Center for Innovative Print and Paper

Published in association with Blaffer Gallery, the Art Museum of the University of Houston

File created: 9/23/2014

Questions and comments to: webmaster@press.princeton.edu
Princeton University Press

New Book E-mails
New In Print
PUP Blog
Videos/Audios
Princeton APPS
Sample Chapters
Subjects
Series
Catalogs
Princeton Legacy Library
Textbooks
Media/Reviewers
Class Use
Rights/Permissions
Ordering
Recent Awards
Princeton Shorts
Freshman Reading
PUP Europe
About Us
Contact Us
Links
F.A.Q.
PUP Home


Bookmark and Share
Send me emails
about new books in:
Art and Architecture
More Choices
Email:
Country:
Name: