Princeton University Press authors awarded 2023 Guggenheim Fellowships

Fourteen authors with books published by, or forthcoming from, Princeton University Press are among the 2023 Guggenheim Fellows, a cohort announced today by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. The prestigious fellowships are awarded annually to roughly 175 individuals working across the social sciences, natural sciences, humanities, and creative arts. We offer congratulations to all those included in this year’s list! Those who have published, or will publish, with Princeton include:

Bridget Alsdorf, Professor of 19th Century European Art at Princeton University and the author of Gawkers: Art and Audience in Late Nineteenth-Century France and Fellow Men: Fantin-Latour and the Problem of the Group in Nineteenth-Century French Painting. Alsdorf additionally contributed to the catalogue Cézanne and the Modern: Masterpieces of European Art from the Pearlman Collection, published by the Princeton University Art Museum and distributed by Princeton University Press.

Frank Baumgartner, Richard J. Richardson Distinguished Professor of Political Science, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and coauthor, with Beth L. Leech, of Basic Interests: The Importance of Groups in Politics and in Political Science.

Roland Betancourt, Professor, Department of Art History, University of California, Irvine and author of Byzantine Intersectionality: Sexuality, Gender, and Race in the Middle Ages.

Lucas Bessire, Professor of Anthropology, University of Oklahoma and author of Running Out: In Search of Water on the High Plains, a Finalist for the 2021 National Book Award.

Stephen Darwall, Andrew Downey Orrick Professor of Philosophy, Yale University and author of Welfare and Rational Care.

Jason Fletcher, Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor of Public Affairs, University of Wisconsin-Madison and coauthor, with Dalton Conley, of The Genome Factor: What the Social Genomics Revolution Reveals about Ourselves, Our History, and the Future.

Elizabeth Currid-Halkett, Professor, James Irvine Chair in Urban and Regional Planning, University of Southern California and the author of The Sum of Small Things: A Theory of the Aspirational Class and The Warhol Economy: How Fashion, Art, and Music Drive New York City.

Bonnie Honig, Nancy Duke Lewis Professor of Modern Culture and Media and Political Science, Brown University and author of Emergency Politics: Paradox, Law, Democracy.

William Howell, Sydney Stein Professor in American Politics, Harris School of Public Policy, University of Chicago and author of Thinking about the Presidency: The Primacy of Power; Power without Persuasion: The Politics of Direct Presidential Action; The American Presidency: An Institutional Approach to Executive Politics and, with Jon Pevehouse, While Dangers Gather: Congressional Checks on Presidential War Powers.

Tali Mendelberg, John Work Garrett, Professor of Politics, Princeton University and the author of The Race Card: Campaign Strategy, Implicit Messages, and the Norm of Equality and, with Christopher F. Karpowitz, The Silent Sex: Gender, Deliberation, and Institutions.

Eduardo Mercado III, Professor of Psychology, University at Buffalo, SUNY and author of the forthcoming Principles of Cognitive Psychology. 

Jennifer M. Morton, Presidential Penn Compact Associate Professor of Philosophy, University of Pennsylvania and author of Moving Up without Losing Your Way: The Ethical Costs of Upward Mobility, winner of the Winner of the Frederic W. Ness Book Award, Association of American Colleges and Universities and the Grawemeyer Award in Education.

Lillian B. Pierce, Nicholas J. and Theresa M. Leonardy Professor, Department of Mathematics, Duke University and coauthor, with Elias M. Stein, of Discrete Operators in Harmonic Analysis, under contract with Princeton University Press. Pierce is additionally a series editor for Press’s Annals of Mathematics Studies.

David Scott, Ruth and William Lubic Professor of Anthropology and Chair, Department of Anthropology, Columbia University and author of Refashioning Futures: Criticism after Postcoloniality.