PUP authors awarded 2022 Guggenheim Fellowships

Eight Princeton University Press authors have received 2022 Guggenheim Fellowships, awarded to individuals who have “demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.” The 2022 winners who’ve published with PUP are:

Karen Bakker, an award-winning professor at the University of British Columbia, earned her PhD from the University of Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar. She is the author of The Sounds of Life (2022).

Daniel A. Barber is associate professor of architecture at the University of Pennsylvania Weitzman School of Design. He is the author of Modern Architecture and Climate (2020).

Katja Guenther is professor of the history of science at Princeton University. She is the author of The Mirror and the Mind (2022).

Daniel Hack is professor of English at the University of Michigan. He is the author of Reaping Something New (2016).

Michael J. Hathaway is professor of anthropology at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, Canada, and is a member of the Matsutake Worlds Research Group. He is the author of What a Mushroom Lives For (2022).

Suzanne L. Marchand is the Boyd Professor of History at Louisiana State University. She is the author of Down from Olympus (1996) and Porcelain (2020).

Esther Schor is a poet and professor of English at Princeton University. She was the Inaugural Behrman Professor in the Humanities Council and has served on the Executive Committee of the Program in Judaic Studies. She is the author of Bearing the Dead (1995).

Shawn Michelle Smith is professor of visual and critical studies at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. She is the author of American Archives (2000) and a contributor for The Double (2022).