Selected Works of Miguel de Unamuno, Volume 7
Ficciones: Four Stories and a Play
Miguel de Unamuno

Edited by Anthony Kerrigan & Martin Nozick


Unwilling to be bound by the categories of religion, Unamuno rejected the laws that distinguish one literary genre from another. Thus, some of Unamuno's finest essays are short stories, and vice versa. Included in this volume are four stories: Tia Tula; The Novel of Don Sandalio, Chess Player; The Madness of Doctor Montarco; Saint Manuel Bueno, Martyr and the play The Other.

First published in 1976.